Board of Directors


The ICBSS is governed by an international Board of Directors (BoD), consisting of 18 members. The twelve BSEC member states each appoint one Board member (National Director), representing the diplomatic or academic communities. The Secretary General of the BSEC Permanent International Secretariat (BSEC PERMIS), the ICBSS Director General and the Alternate Director General are full members of the Board. The Board also includes three personalities of international standing as non-voting members.


All 18 Board members are appointed for three year terms that may be renewed. They elect a Chairperson and two Vice-Chairpersons for two-year terms. Ordinary Board meetings are generally held twice a year, while extraordinary sessions may be called whenever necessary. Each member has one vote and resolutions are adopted by the simple majority of members present. In the event of a tie, the Chairperson has a casting vote.


The Board of Directors sets the general guidelines for the work of the Centre, approves its annual and interim reports as well as the main activities planned for the following year. It appoints the Director General, Alternate Director General and Director of Studies and Research, determines their remuneration and approves the ICBSS’ budget and its execution.


Dr. Sergei Goncharenko, Russian Federation, Deputy Director, Department of Economic Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

National Directors:

Mr. Agim Pasholli, Republic of Albania, Director, Department of Regional Initiatives, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Ashot Grigorian, Republic of Armenia, Acting Head, Department of Multilateral and Bilateral Economic Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Shovgi Mehdizade, Republic of Azerbaijan, Head, Division for Cooperation with Regional Economic Organizations, Department for Economic Cooperation and Development, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ms. Maya Dobreva, Republic of Bulgaria, Director of Southeastern Europe Directorate, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Akaki Lomidze, Georgia, Counsellor of the Multilateral and Regional Economic Cooperation Division of the International Economic Relations Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Amb. Petros Panayotopoulos, Greece, Director for Economic relations with SE Europe, CIS and BSEC, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Dr. Maria Duca, Republic of Moldova, Academician, Rector of the University of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova, National Academy of Sciences

Mr. Dan Petre, Romania, Director General, Romanian Diplomatic Institute, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Zdravko Pavicevic, Republic of Serbia, Minister-Counselor at the Multilateral Economic Section, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Engin Solakoglu, Turkey, Head of Department, Deputy Directorate General for Multilateral Economic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ms. Iuliia Volkova, Ukraine, Department Chief, International Cooperation and Analytical Support Department of the State Agency on Science, Innovations and Informatization of Ukraine


Amb. Michael B. Christides, Secretary General, BSEC PERMIS, Istanbul, Turkey

Amb. (ret.) Jean Cadet, Former Member of the French National Court of Auditors, Paris, France

Dr. Hubert Heinelt, Professor of Public Administration, Public Policy and Urban Research

Institute for Political Science, Darmstadt University of Technology, Darmstadt, Germany

Mr. Derry Ormond, Independent Advisor in Governance, Paris, France



ICBSS Advisory Panel:

Prof. Mustafa Aydin, Chairman, Department of International Relations, TOBB University of Economics and Technology, Ankara

Amb. Valeri Chechelashvili, Secretary General, Organisation for Democracy and Economic Development (GUAM)

Dr. Zefi Dimadama, Environmental & Energy Security Expert-SE Europe, Regional & Environmental Economist, PhD, Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences

Amb. Michael Lake, Former EU Ambassador to Turkey and Hungary, Greater Manchester

Dr. Ian. O. Lesser, Senior Transatlantic Fellow, The German Marshall Fund of the United States, Washington D.C.

Mr. John Roberts, Senior Consultant, Platts, London

Mr. Peter Semneby, EU Special Representative for the South Caucasus, General Secretariat, Council of the European Union, Brussels

Prof. Nodari Simonia Alexandrovich, Director, Institute of World Economy and International Relations, Member of Presidium, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow

Prof. Mihai-Razvan Ungureanu, Deputy Coordinator, Southeast European Cooperative Initiative (SECI), Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Romania

Dr. Dimitrios Triantaphyllou, Director, Center for International and European Studies (CIES), Kadir Has University, Istanbul

Mr. Ivan Vejvoda, Executive Director, Balkan Trust for Democracy, Belgrade Office, The German Marshall Fund of the United States, Belgrade

Prof. Thanos Veremis, President, National Council of Education, Athens

Mr. Daniel Vernet, Director, Department of International Relations, Le Monde, Paris

Dr. Zhelyu Zhelev, President, The Balkan Political Club, Sofia, Former President of Bulgaria




Special partners



background image

User login