Board of Directors

The ICBSS is governed by an international Board of Directors (BoD), consisting of senior representatives from the diplomatic and academic communities of 12 BSEC Member States. The Board also includes BSEC PERMIS Secretary General, the ICBSS Director General and Alternate Director General, and three personalities of international standing.



Mr. Akaki Lomidze, Georgia, Head of Division of Multilateral and Regional Economic Cooperation of the Dept. of International Economic Relations, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia

Vice Chairperson:

Mr. Sergey A. Zabelin, Russian Federation, Senior Research Fellow, Institute of Europe of the Russian Academy of Science

National Directors:

Mr. Agim Pasholli, Republic of Albania, Director, Department of Regional Initiatives, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Arman Khachatryan, Republic of Armenia, Head of Dept. of Multilateral Policy and Development Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ms. Husniyya Mammadova, Republic of Azerbaijan, Director of Dept. of Economic Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Dr. Milen Lyubenov, Republic of Bulgaria, Head, Regional Cooperation Dept. Southeast Europe Directorate, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Amb. Dionysios Sourvanos, Hellenic Republic, Ambassador, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Dr. Svetlana Cojocaru, Republic of Moldova, Vice-President, Academy of Sciences

Mr. Dan Petre, Romania, Ambassador, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Zdravko Pavicevic, Republic of Serbia, Minister-Counselor at the Multilateral Economic Section, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Rauf Alp Denktaş, Republic of Turkey, Deputy Directorate General for Multilateral Economic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Dr. Viktor Komorin, Ukraine, Director, Ukrainian Scientific Center of Ecology of the Sea (UkrSCES)


Mr. Georgios Mitrakos, Director General, ICBSS

Amb. Michael B. Christides, Secretary General, BSEC PERMIS, Istanbul, Turkey

Dr. Hubert Heinelt, Professor of Public Administration, Public Policy and Urban Research Institute for Political Science, Darmstadt University of Technology, Darmstadt, Germany

Dr. Carmen Navarro Gómez, Professor, Political Sciences and International Relations, Faculty of Law, Autonomous University of Madrid